Reviews

Excellent - Rating 5/5

Staff was brilliant, so polite and lovely attitude. Ideally located right in the middle of Bowness. Highly recommend

Reviewer:Jason S | Mon 16th Mar 2020 | 21 hours ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 4/5

Had a very enjoyable weekend room fine but although radiators where on all the time quite a cold room, didn't spoil stay though. Would recommend ideally situated central to everything

Reviewer:sharon b | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 2 weeks ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Room was lovely, food was delicious and staff hospitality was fantastic. Couldnt have asked for more. If returning to Bowness in the future, will look no further than Monties!

Reviewer:Jack B | Mon 17th Feb 2020 | 4 weeks ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff warm welcome snd nicd breakfast cean room and good location would recommend to friends and family

Reviewer:Michelle C | Wed 4th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


November Weekend - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, super breakfast and friendly, helpful staff will visit again.

Reviewer:Gerard H | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 3 months ago


Our stay at Monties Guest House Bowness - Rating 5/5

Found a gem in the heart of Bowness. Very warm and friendly hosts.Nothing was too much trouble.Very clean and enjoyable breakfast.Pity havnt found this gem before.George and Margaret Glasgow.

Reviewer:George S | Wed 30th Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


Great - Rating 4/5

Great room good location thanks

Reviewer:Mark R | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

Great location,good breakfast,staff were fantastic at breakfast,good size room,just a few negatives,room could do with sproosing up alittle,the vent in the shower room seems to let all the smells in from the kitchen and there's abit of strange smell in the waredrobe, would stay again though

Reviewer:Dawn c | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


Really enjoyed the stay- Rating 5/5

Just spent 5 nights at Monties and couldn't have felt more welcome, please disregard previous comments on Monties as it's only been under new management a few months, room was clean spacious and comfortable and breakfast was always good, stayed in a superior room which was on the front and will be going again

Reviewer:steven j h | Sat 19th Oct 2019 | 4 months ago


I highly recommend !!! - Rating 5/5

The stay was very enjoyable. Very clean, fresh sheets, fragrant. Delicious breakfast. Very nice service. Location right in the center of Bowness on Windermere. Great place and we will definitely be back. I highly recommend !!!

Reviewer:Magdalena K | Thu 17th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday. Our room was at the front of the building and it was a little noisy with traffic etc early morning, but the location was great right in the centre of the town, so you've got to balance things up. We only had breakfast on one morning and it was good quality, scrambled eggs freshly prepared, sausages you could tell were delicious.

Reviewer:Andrew J | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


room 3- Rating 5/5

very nice room lovely breakfast but tv needs putting on wall not on top of wardrobeotherwise very good

Reviewer:paul h | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 5 months ago


Cheeky bowness night away- Rating 5/5

We have stayed a couple of times here.Very warm friendly hosts, lovely clean room great location and a excellent breakfastWould recommend staying

Reviewer:Joanne K | Fri 23rd Aug 2019 | 6 months ago


Breakfast one of the nicest we have had - Rating 5/5

Brilliant location breakfast was fantastic bed wascomfy .Room and TV was a bit small but we booked last min and probably got the worst room .Would stay again hosts were very nice .The bar next door was cranking music out at 8 am for some strange reason which is very inconsiderate and selfish and nothing the owners can do anything about .They are probably too nice to kick off big time with them .

Reviewer:Phillip P | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


FANTASTIC - Rating 5/5

Huge room with a very comfortable bed, staff can't do enough to help, clean, very accessible, great breakfast.

Reviewer:Dominic E | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Nice comfy room - Rating 4/5

Check was easy despite no one being there , lock box Is a good idea.Room nice and comfy and bathroom was clean.Breakfast very tasty. Maybe some more choice with cold breakfast buffet and the room could do with a spruce up, a lick of paint would be my only very minor point. Otherwise very pleasant thank you

Reviewer:LYNN W | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Value for money- Rating 4/5

I was very happy with our room. It was clean and spacious. The bathroom was very small but overall was good value for money.The only downside to the room is that I felt everyone could see us in our room. Maybe if there were different sort of blinds or a net curtain, we could still look outside without people being able to see in.The breakfast was perfect. A great variety and very tasty.

Reviewer:Lisa G | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Monties - Rating 4/5

Cannot fault Monties great location great breakfast and lovely staff will definitely be coming back here

Reviewer:John M | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 8 months ago


Leisure - Rating 4/5

Lovely room lovely staff lovely food would recommend and we will be back

Reviewer:Nicola C | Thu 13th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Comfortable accommodation- Rating 4/5

Lovely little B &B in central Bowness, wonderful friendly host in Anca and a lovely breakfastWell worth the money

Reviewer:Mr. David Atkinson| Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


22nd May2019 - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time , one word brilliant , Thankyou

Reviewer:Caroline C | Fri 24th May 2019 | 9 months ago


Ideal- Rating 4/5

Monties is central, clean, well equipped,attentive service, good breakfast. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Jo B | Sat 18th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and very clean, staff are professional and very friendly, breakfast is delicious, will definitely come and stay again, Thank you :)

Reviewer:Charlotte N | Fri 17th May 2019 | 10 months ago


very nice stay - Rating 4/5

Room was clean and comfy. Great location for all travelling. Lovely breakfast, cooked beautifully. Thank you for a nice stay.

Reviewer:Rebecca T | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 10 months ago


Central location and spotless B & B - Rating 4/5

B &B in a central location on shopping street in Bowness. Landlady friendly and helpful. The bedroom was small but adequate, very clean. Shower was good. Car parking pay and display nearby. Breakfast was good and sufficient choice. Perhaps addition of porridge and fruit would have given it 5 stars. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs F N | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed for two nights, on arrival no one around to let us in the property.The room was comfortable and clean although a little dated.Smallest tv in room and remote not fully working, not a major issue as we out most of the time. Breakfast and staff each morning excellent.Location is inthe heart of Bowness. Parking was £15 for 3 days just up the road.

Reviewer:Karl H | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Monties Bownessey - Rating 5/5

Excellent people watching location, ask for the large double that over looks Cragg Brow

Reviewer:Jonathan S | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 12 months ago


Lovely stay Paddys Night Bowness- Rating 5/5

Excellent people watching location, ask for the large double that over looks Cragg Brow

Reviewer:Jonathan S | Tue 19th Mar 2019 | 12 months ago


Great place - Rating 4/5

Clean and very handy for centre of town. Great service,complimented with a great breakfast,would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Philip C | Sat 23rd Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Great nights stay in the lakes- Rating 4/5

Lovely guest house, clean and great staff.

Reviewer:shelley g | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


3 day break- Rating 4/5

Clean room friendly staff and good breakfast. This was the third time we have stayed and even though infrequent will more than likely return

Reviewer:Jeanette R | Wed 23rd Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Staff are very friendly and very helpful will be staying here again

Reviewer:Jackie W | Tue 15th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Great location- Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay fantastic location and lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:wayne B | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, very clean and a fantastic breakfast

Reviewer:Paul K | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Location, Location, Location. - Rating 5/5

Great price and a location that is second to none. If like me you love Bowness you will struggle to beat this lovely Bed &Breakfast for value location.Great rooms, very nice full English too.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Small but great- Rating 4/5

Clean andcomfortablyGreat breakfast

Reviewer:Richard B | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Ideal location- Rating 5/5

Stayed at Monties for 2 nights, ideally located B&B with clean rooms and good food. Would recommend Monties for any age group.

Reviewer:Martin H | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Love the lakes - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay at monties guesthouse. Great breakky and very comfy room! Staff very pleasant and location couldnt be better.

Reviewer:Pennie H | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Monties Guesthouse- Rating 4/5

Monties is a great base to enjoy your Bowness stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Great breakfast in the mornings &really friendly and helpful staff/owners. Great central location &no issues whatsoever. Definitely recommended.

Reviewer:Jonathan P | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

Very good accommodation, great central location, excellent breakfast, overall very satisfied.

Reviewer:Brian J | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Cracking stay- Rating 4/5

Once again a great stay lovely big room breakfast spot on!! Location perfect &staff excellent friendly &couldn't ask for more!! Keep it up Michelle &team!!

Response

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewer:bernadette c | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

A very nice clean guest house .in the town centre near all attractions.nice people.lovely food

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Reviewer:Valerie M | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


. - Rating 5/5

Very, very nice place!

Response

Thank you and hope you come and stay with us again.

Reviewer:Fernando A | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice Rooms Great Location - Rating 4/5

The rooms nice, simple and clean.The photo makes it look much nicer than it is.Parking is a few blocks away but like most places I have stayed this is expected.Was about a 2 block walk.Breakfast was good and staff were nice.

Response

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Reviewer:DOUGLAS H | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great location, accommodation and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights as a group of 4 adults. Location is superb and central to all of Bowness. Really friendly place and the owner was fantastic with us. Breakfast is great and the cafe is lovely. Would definitely stay again. We had room 7, which was very large and lovely. The cost was reasonable and well worth it.

Response

We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your short break with us at Monties and will be sure to pass your comments onto our staff. We do hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewer:Louise C | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay at Monties - Rating 4/5

Just had a nice few days in Bowness, made better by staying at Monties B+B. The room was nice and clean, there was some road noise, but we were in the centre of the town so was expected. We were aware of the limited parking as explained on the booking site so we paid £15 and left our car in the pay and display 2 min walk away. Breakfast was nice and staff friendly. We would stay here again but would opt for en-suit and maybe a rear room but as ours was a last minute booking this was not available.

Response

Thank you for such a lovely, honest review of your recent stay at Monties. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the Monties Team look forward to your return visit.

Reviewer:Antony Y | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


My stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable. Ideal situation. Nearby parking. Clean. Staff very pleasant. Good breakfast. Value for money.

Response

Thank you for your helpful review. We hope you come and visit again.

Reviewer:Sylvia S | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent central location, large clean room,good breakfast and friendly staff. Couldn’t fault it.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back.

Reviewer:John L | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great little find - Rating 3/5

Great value clean and welcoming and breakfast was lovely . We had a great time !

Response

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewer:Rachael H | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place, great location- Rating 5/5

Can’t fault this place.Location amazing, staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay, much appreciated and so glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Anita P | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Wife and I went here for a night away and a few drinks. Cannotfault the place. We were greeted well, not overly fussed over and told all we needed to know. Room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. Loads of pubs within 2 minutes walk and ate lovely food in The Angel Inn. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. We will definitely be returning.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We do hope its not too long before you return to stay again.

Reviewer:Andy B | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great value for money, central location - Rating 5/5

Right in centre of Bowness. Pay and display very close and long stay £15 for 3 days-reasonable value. Accommodation very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Only downside was traffic noise as right on main street, but would definitely stay again.

Response

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewer:Linda M | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place, great location- Rating 5/5

Can’t fault this place.Location amazing, staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments

Reviewer:Anita P | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

The guest house was clean and tidy friendly staff,the property was nicely situated at the lower end of Bowness handy for shops and the Lake front. The food was well prepared especially breakfast Full English Breakfast.We would recommend this place to others.

Response

Thank you for such a lovey review and taking the time to do so is very much appreciated by all the Monties Team.

Reviewer:Joseph D | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Last minute mini moon - Rating 5/5

We booked the room very last minute, the morning we stayed. The location is fantastic right in the centre and a few minutes walk to the lake, the room was comfy and the breakfast was lovely.We would stay again.

Response

Lovely to read that you had an enjoyable last minute break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewer:Kimberley R | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Good location in Windermere and easy to make a check in later. Room clean and very confortable bed.I was just very sorry that the information I send per email via booking about my gluten allergy was not taken in account for the breakfast.

Reviewer:Clemence F | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice for a weekend getaway - Rating 3/5

For the price we were happy with the accomodation and breakfast. We would return

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review, we do hope to welcome you again.

Reviewer:Maria S | Tue 1st May 2018 | 1 year ago


Golden wedding weekend- Rating 4/5

Booking for Mum dad and they had a lovely time food good room clean staff lovely thankyou for putting flowers in room as requested

Response

So glad they enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to welcome them back again.

Reviewer:Pamela R | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Mounties Bed&Breakfast - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay at Monties central to the town,clean(maybe the radiator could do with a lick of paint or replacing)welcoming and enjoyed the breakfast that was in with the price.

Response

thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay at Monties. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Reviewer:Kevin N | Tue 6th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Nice stay with lovely breakfast- Rating 5/5

Me and my wife had a lovely stay in monties the room was spacious and very clean , also the breakfast the following morning was really nice will definitely be back , barry and Carl’s Scott

Response

Delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again

Reviewer:Barry S | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Monties b&b - Rating 5/5

Stayed in room 7 which was great. Good breakfast too

Reviewer:allan b | Sun 28th Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


Brilliant stay!! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location,superb breakfast and really friendly staff,loved it!!!!!!!!

Response

Thank yo so very much for such a lovely review and we hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Reviewer:sunil d | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Brilliant stay!! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location,superb breakfast and really friendly staff,loved it!!!!!!!!

Response

Thank yo so very much for such a lovely review and we hope you come back and stay with us again very soon.

Reviewer:sunil d | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


great stay- Rating 4/5

Great little place almost overlooking albert pub most central place there is in bowness nice rooms very clean&comfortable beds! Breakfast is a must served by lovely pleasant staff host michelle is lovely always finds time to speak.well done guys keep it up!

Response

Thank you very much Bernadette for such a lovely review and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Deborah

Reviewer:bernadette c | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Short Stay - Rating 3/5

Good location for visit to Lake Windermere and only 1.5miles from railway station. Excellent breakfast. Had a few problems in room and found the TV to high to watch in comfort.

Reviewer:John S | Wed 7th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


happy holidays - Rating 4/5

Good food and ideal location

Reviewer:john r | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Bowness Bay - Rating 4/5

Staff were really helpful,our room was clean comfortable and the breakfast menu was extensive and plentiful. Monties is conveniently located and though parking can be a problem, we would stay there again.

Response

Thank you Alan for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and hope to return to stay with us again.

Reviewer:Alan S | Thu 13th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


room 7 - Rating 4/5

had lovely room 7, was in great location the only thing that let it down was the parking. breakfast was beautiful

Response

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed staying in our popular Room 7 (Superior Double). We do advise all customers on booking and prior to arrival that due to our central location parking is limited and offered on a first come, first served basis. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Reviewer:Mr. gary a | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Location - Rating 4/5

Room slightly dated but so clean - fantastic staff and locationFood is lovely, very large portions.Very friendly

Response

Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewer:audrey m | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great service - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, excellent price.

Response

thank you for your review.

Reviewer:Sorin S | Thu 30th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Great location,great room and great service

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewer:Mandy S | Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


Comfortable stay- Rating 4/5

Lovely comfortable bed breakfast goodperfect location

Response

Thank you for your review and glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Reviewer:Janice J | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Many thanks. - Rating 5/5

As always very pleasant staff, breakfast A1, accommodation very satisfactory. Always made welcome, will be back.

Response

thank you for taking the time to leave a review, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen C | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Nice comfy bed and the room was clean, staff were polite and the location was great with everything on the doorstep.

Reviewer:Melanie P | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent B and B - Rating 5/5

Good value for money B and B, internal decor a little dated but very clean withvery comfortable bed Breakfastwas also very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful, all in all an excellent B and Bwill definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert S | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


10 out of 10 - Rating 5/5

Great room, good breakfast, reasonably priced and happy staff.

Reviewer:Geoff W | Wed 21st Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed here fri&sat is lovely place staff are excellent comfy bed best location you couldn't get any closer to all ammeneties &the breakfast is fantastic.well done michelle &thanks to christian also.

Response

Many thanks for your review and we will be sure and pass on comments to our team

Reviewer:Bernadette C | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Very Nice - Rating 4/5

Sorry we had to dash off before breakfast. However, really enjoyed our stay. Well presented clean room. Very comforttable bed. A little attention to detail needed..no light shades on ceiling lights!! Great location for shops cafes restaurants lake and àll attractions. Would definately stay again. Down side..main road so unavoidable noise. Might be an idea to have room fans as it was very hot so needed the windows open a room fan would help

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewer:Margaret F | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice spot - Rating 4/5

In the heart of it all,Good roomVery cleanNice staffComfy bedOk bathroom

Response

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay and glad to see you enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Marie-Josee S | Thu 4th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Good position to town - Rating 4/5

My sister in law and i stayed for 3 nights.The location was really good, however our room was on the road side and was noisy all night, we didnt sleep much for 3 nights. Room size was good, missing a mirror. Staff are incredibly helpful and nice and breakfast was the best we had had on our travels.

Response

Thank you for your feedback and sorry yo read your sleep was disturbed during your stay. Due to our central location, it can be busy and noisey during peak periods. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts!

Reviewer:Sally W | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent friendly and Cosy B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed the 28/7&29/7 for a short break. Been to the lakes numerous times but first (and definitely won't be the last) time at Monties.Lovely room, gorgeous breakfast, (both had a full English) fantastic location,Staff very friendly and helpful.Thank you for helping us a great break.

Response

Thank you Mark and delighted Monties were able to help you enjoy your short break in the lakes. Please do come back and stay again soon.

Reviewer:Mark H | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good value- Rating 4/5

We had a wonderful 3 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely and polite and served an excellent breakfast. This was an excellent location b &b. We were lucky to park around the back bonus 👍.Would recommend and will return in the future.

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and glad to read that Monties ticked all the boxes during your visit to the lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewer:Julie S | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Our Day in Windermere- Rating 4/5

Great place 2 mins walk down the hill from the Lake very clean and comfortable roomBreakfast was very good too all staff friendly and helpfulWe'll be back

Response

What a lovely review of your stay with us and delighted you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewer:Stephen R | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good location, some issues though :( - Rating 3/5

The location of this accommodation was perfect however we did have a few issues (sorry). We were in room 5 which was very dated in comparison to the pics advertised online and the pressure on the shower was not very good at all - it was difficult to use. We also asked for some clean towels on the Saturday however as the staff were busy - our request was forgotten.That said - the food was fabulous and staff very friendly. Just some feedback really as if you are unaware of issues it is impossible to rectify them.Thanks again :)

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. we have noted your comments regarding the shower. With regard to towels, guests staying 1/2 nights do not receive towel change.

Reviewer:Linda V | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely hotel - Rating 3/5

a bit noisy from the steert, but the hotel is comfortable.

Response

Thank you for your review. Yes, as advertised we are centrally located in the village which can be busy with traffic and tourists at peak times. However, it does afford our guests easy walking distance to lake, attractions, restaurants and shops.

Reviewer:HUIMIN P | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect Peter Rabbit visit - Rating 4/5

I stayed at Monties with my 6 year old daughter for a mother daughter weekend.This was a great location for easy access to Beatrix Potter Experience, kid friendly restaurants, shopping, and the lake.Breakfast was very good and rooms were clean.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review and glad your daughter enjoyed her visit to The World of Beatrix Potter around the corner.

Reviewer:Jennifer H | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent Bed & Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Had an excellent long weekend staying at Monties Guesthouse in the superior room. Everything was perfect for our needs and any issues were sorted very quickly.Excellent location for walks and right in the centre of Bowness so very handy for going out for dinner and lunch. The cafe that served breakfast was great and the food was delicious! The staff were also very polite and friendly. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Bowness-on-Windermere.

Response

Thank you so very much for your very kind and glowing review - high praise indeed! Thank you from all the Monties team and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Euan B | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice but overpriced- Rating 4/5

A nice little B and B but it's way overpriced. Our toilet was very noisy when you flushed it. Great location though and staff where very helpful and friendly.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is unfortunate you did not make us aware of your noisey toilet during your stay, when we could have tended to it. We will be sure and pass on your comments to our staff. With regard to pricing, we are very competitive for the area, offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at from £40 per person inclusive of breakfast.

Reviewer:Natalie H | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Mixed - Rating 3/5

Positive- staff very pleasant and helpful, central, check in v easy,nice breakfastNegative- we stayed in room 4 which was pictured once &is more complimentary than the room itself. Clearly not had the same refurb as the rooms in other pics. Lots of small things not so good - water collected behind the loo,shower height adjuster broken, damage to wall under windows,tv small and above the wardrobe etc

Response

Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding staff and breakfast. thank you also for bringing the other items to our attention, however we would have preferred the opportunity to rectify these during your stay.

Reviewer:William P | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Hard for the taxi driver - Rating 3/5

Montieswas a pleasant stay but was on a corner where it was difficult for the taxi to pick us off and drop us off. If you are a mature traveler beware of the stairs! A room on the lower stairs is best. On the plus side it is very central.

Response

Thank you for your helpful feedback for the benefit of future guests and we do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Reviewer:Janet G | Wed 6th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


So clean and comfy. - Rating 5/5

Great location in the heart of Bowness. Lovely clean room with a comfortable bed. The building has character and the breakfast was perfect.Have already recommended Monties to friends.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewer:David K | Tue 7th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Cozy and sweet place in York - Rating 5/5

Close to city centre and train station.The room was so cozy that I feel really comfortable.Breakfast was really awesome~!Thank you ^-^

Response

Many thanks for your review and glad you found Monties so comfortable.

Reviewer:Jun Youp L | Sun 29th May 2016 | 3 years ago


great value for money - Rating 5/5

great positiongreat double room clean and comfortablegreat breakygreat staff

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewer:Tina G | Thu 19th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Good breakfast good staff - Rating 4/5

Very nice room staff very nice and nothing any problem would stay here again

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and we are glad we will have the chance to welcome you back again Lesley.

Reviewer:Lesley T | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Great location, good breakfast and decent enough accommodation.If you only there for one or two nights and want a central location offering basic accommodation to get your head down then this place is ideal.

Response

Thank you for your review Paul and glad you enjoyed your short break at Monties. We hope to welcome you back to the Lakes again soon!

Reviewer:Paul K | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Pleasant- Rating 3/5

The room was nice, but having a separate bathroom was a little in convenient at times. Breakfast was lovely. Only faults no ventilation in the bathroom, nothing to tell us who to contact in an emergency, and the road outside took some getting used to. All in all it felt like we were minding a friends house as there was no on on site all the time.

Response

hank you for the review. You were aware at time of booking with third party website the room had a separate \"private\"bathroom and again when we confirmed your reservation, along with contact details in case of emergency you are provided with the owners mobile number. there are staff on duty in the café until 6pm each day and staff that also live on-site. the bathroom window does open but it would appear it may require some attention.

Reviewer:Philip M | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Birthday celebrations - Rating 5/5

We stayed for the weekend at Monties and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I'm glad we didn't listen to the negative reviews. The accommodation was lovely and the kids didn't want to leave. The room was very clean, fresh towels each day and the breakfast was brilliant with lots to choose from. The staff were friendly and not overbearing. Happy to leave you to enjoy your stay but very helpful when needed. Would definitely recommend Monties to others and will be going back again.

Response

Thank you very much for your honest and positive review. We are delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable break with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Reviewer:Ms. Emma M | Mon 24th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Brilliant location - Rating 5/5

Very friendlyand polite staff.Had a great stay and will definitely be back again.Suggest room has two chairs and a table.

Response

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewer:Frank Q | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


a father and his son - Rating 4/5

cosy and friendly place

Reviewer:JAN R | Sat 16th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Very late booking ! - Rating 5/5

On arrival at bowness we checked in at our first choice of b and b to be extremely disappointed this is where Mounties came in .at such short notice we booked 3 double rooms and were throughly delighted .this small guest house on the high street is ideally placed and was a pleasure to stay at .our party of 3 couples were in bowness to celebrate a friends birthday it could have been ruined but Mounties made the stay. The rooms were beautiful, comfy, warm and CLEAN! The breakfast was lovely .we can't thank you enough. We will definitely be back

Response

Thank you Jennifer for your lovely review and we were so glad to be able to assist in accommodating you and your friends following your disappointment at the other guesthouse. We always aim to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at Monties and we are happy to read that not only did we meet your requirements but that you are looking to revisit. We look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Reviewer:Jenifer W | Mon 11th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Great location ,nice rooms and breakfast

Response

Glad you had such a nice break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Monties again soon. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Reviewer:Paul K | Tue 5th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities


Contact Details

Monties Bed & Breakfast
Crag Brow
Windermere
Bowness-on-Windermere
Cumbria
LA23 3BX